Archive for August, 2009

Records you ordered long ago…

…which seemed to be never released at all and you even forgot about them, until you finally get them from your mailman are always make me happy. This record is something really special as I ordered it like years ago, I think it was 2003. Moreover it contains one of my favourite bands, Takaru.

Takaru / The Assistant / This Ship Will Sink

I think the CD version of this 3-way split of Takaru, The Assistant and This Ship Will Sink was released in 2003 or 2004, but the vinyl version never saw the light of day. 3 really great bands, possibly not with their best songs, but a damn nice release and lovely reminder of the “old days”.

Watch some videos of the bands (sorry, I haven’t found a better one for This Ship Will Sink) in the following. Continue reading ‘Records you ordered long ago…’

Utarid Discography anyone?

Arwith just emailed me about the idea to release the discography of the great Utarid from Malaysia. They were one of the first bands from sout asia known also in Europe and the USA, delivering a great mix of Orchid-like hardcore and heartfelt lyrics with some new ideas.



Their “De[ad]mo Tape” as well as their split floppy disk with the also no longer active Am I Dead Yet! from Belgium were the first two releases on Broken Glasses Records.
After a long delay of a planned discography it should now finally be released, Hugues from The Flying Worker/Puzzle Records will design the artwork. They are still in the search for labels which want to be part of this release, so anyone interested in this should just get in contact with Arwith.

You can listen to Accent Fall On The First Syllable from their 4-way split 12″ with A Fine Boat That Coffin, Am I Dead Yet! and The Mock Heroic.

Crucificados + 2 * Australian awesomeness = 7 inches

Germany’s Crucificados Records will release a really great little split 7inch in the next weeks: Two of the best bands in Australian grind are team up for this piece of wax, namely Roskopp and the almighty Agents Of Abhorrence.

Agents Of Abhorrence / Roskopp Split 7inch

Agents Of Abhorrence / Roskopp Split 7inch

AOA delivers 5 new songs, Roskopp smashes 3 new tracks on the vinyl. You can preorder it right now, expect 2-3 weeks until the records are done.

Narshardaa Records: New release & single series

First of all the Lybians discography LP is finally released on Narshardaa Records. You can get all songs of this Boston hardcore punks on blue vinyl (100) and black vinyl (400), all records are packed in a full colour jacket with inserts and include download codes of all songs.

Lybians - Discography

Lybians - Discography

There is also a special pre-order package limited to 50 pieces: You can get the record on blue vinyl with a shirt for 18 euros without postage.

As a second, perhaps already older news, there is the Narshardaa Single Club no. 1 which starts in september 2009 and includes 4 7inches, each of which is limited to 350 pieces. German subscribers will get one record of the following bands each month from september to december (subscribers outside Germany will get it in one package due to high postage rates and the low price of the single club as stated below):

  1. The Now-Denial
  2. Idle Hands
  3. Planks
  4. Trend

The package costs 20 euros including shipping worldwide, so this is a great deal if you ask me. I’m a fan of such single club things for sure.

Her Name Is Calla – Heritage CD out now on Denovali Records

The British Her Name Is Calla, consisting of at least 7 members if I’m right, have released their album called “Heritage” on Denovali Records.

Her Name Is Calla - Heritage

Her Name Is Calla - Heritage

The CD version is available right now, the vinyl version is a bit delayed, but still planned to be released somewhat soon. If you like the more postrocking way of life with piano, cello and sad voices check this out, it is really great and can help you to survive the first autumn depression this year.

Lightning Bolt: New record in October 2009

Lightning Bolt will release a new record on 13th of October 2009. The record is titled “Earthly Delights” and it will be released in a CD and a gatefold vinyl version. The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Sound Guardians
  2. Nation of Boar
  3. Colossus
  4. The Sublime Freak
  5. Flooded Chamber
  6. Funny Farm
  7. Rain on Lake i’m Swimming in
  8. S.O.S
  9. Transmissionary

You can listen to “Colossus” here. Love these guys!